2011 Challenge: Day 45

February 14, 2011 (Day 45)

Valentine’s Day.  I used to hate this “so-called” holiday.  I hated how it’s turned people into believing it’s the one day out of the year they have to do something special for their significant other.  It doesn’t always seem to be about love, but rather how much someone can outdo someone else with the gifts they receive, especially at the workplace.  And in the meantime, it makes those who are lonely feel like crap because they don’t have someone to share this day with.  But don’t let it fool you.  It’s not true.  There are so many people who may not be your significant other who still love you just as much.  And to all my friends and family, I hope you know how much I love you for who you are and for the uniqueness you bring to this world!

But let me get back to my point…

I can’t bring myself to hate Valentine’s Day anymore, because it’s no longer a holiday to me.  It’s an anniversary of the day Adam proposed and asked me to be his wife.  I am so thankful that he chose Valentine’s Day to do so, because I now have nothing but fond memories of the day!  It allows me to remember the best decision I’ve ever made in my life! 

You can’t ever really top a proposal, but this year, we relaxed and just enjoyed being with each other.  As the sun was setting over the horizon, we sat on the beach eating dinner and waiting for the stars to come out.  It was a beautiful sight, and the perfect way to enjoy each other’s company without the hustle and bustle of restaurants or crowded places.  I love how he allows me to truly live in the moment!  <3

Happy Valentine’s Day, everyone, especially to the love of my life, Adam! 

Leave a Reply

